Books on my Shelf: The Storyteller

So over vacation, I read Jodi Picoult’s new novel. I’ve blogged about her before, and she is my favorite author.

The first book of hers I read was My Sister’s Keeper. My mom read it first, then I did, and I literally couldn’t put it down. I distinctly remember being at the mall wishing I was home reading more of it! (I know, I’m so weird)

But anyways, she writes really compelling stories. She has a way of making them totally unique and always puts in really unexpected twists.

Another aspect of her books that I love is the character development. As each of her books progress, you get to read in all of the different character’s voices, and it makes you understand them really well and brings you towards an attachment to them, some more than others depending on your personality.

I really admire Picoult as a writer, too, because she learns so much about whatever topic she writes about. She really commits herself to it, which is so admirable and not many writers take the time to do this. For example, she wrote a story about a child with Asperger Syndrome, which is a form of Autism. While writing the book, she shadowed a little boy with this disorder and consulted textbooks as well as doctors to learn the ins and outs of this syndrome in order to write about it accurately and concisely. This is really cool, because it allows her readers to learn about something real even in a fictional work, and it makes her books a lot more…real.

So as I was saying, I read her new book over vacation, The Storyteller. I had been super excited to read it for a while, and where better to read it than on vacation!?

jodi picoult

When I read it, I found that it was nothing that I expected. This isn’t necessarily a bad thing, though. I definitely have mixed feelings about this book, and am not sure if I just like it or love it. I feel very conflicted because I couldn’t put it down, so that must mean I loved it, right? I’m still not so sure!

Some things about this book – the story is very emotional and compelling. It’s about a controversial topic (I don’t want to give too much away!) that we all know of but perhaps don’t know a lot about. I felt that the topic was excellent and is one that particularly interests me, even outside of this book. So that was a plus.

One of the things I didn’t love about the book, though, is that instead of switching from character to character often within the book, it was dominantly told through the eyes of one character. Don’t get me wrong, this character’s view point was very, very, interesting and I believe totally necessary to the story. I do, though, wish more was included from the other character’s points of view, because I felt kind of disconnected from them.

But, this book, like all of Picoult’s others, was fabulously researched and a very interesting read. I would recommend it to anyone who is a fan of hers and anyone who isn’t!

One thought on “Books on my Shelf: The Storyteller

  1. Hi Sara. The Storyteller was recently given to me as a gift, with a personal inscription asking me the question – ‘Forgiveness, the moral dilemma, black or white…. or grey area?’ – I started reading it yesterday.

Leave a Reply

