How to be a Great Friend

Friendship is undoubtedly one of the best parts of life. They are just so important.

I am lucky enough to have great friends who I know will always be there for me. As I’ve grown up, I really have realized how much more important it is to have several real friends than a bunch of fake ones.

My friends make me me laugh. They turn bad days into good ones and make life more fun. They’re there for me even when they don’t have the time or energy. They love me unconditionally.

Just last week, I was having a bad day and one of my best friends came over and went to dinner with me, even though I know she had absolutely no time to do so. She is always there for me and is such a good friend who always makes time to talk about the silly life dramas that I encounter, listen to me whine and complain, and offer me advice when I need it.

I am so very lucky to have friends that constantly build me up and let me know they’re there for me all the time.

I like to think of myself as a good friend and I consider it very important to maintain my friendships and treat my friends as well as they treat me. Here are my rules of friendship:

  1. Always be supportive – even if you don’t always agree with the actions of your friends, at the end of the day, you need to be supportive. You can tell them your opinion (in a nice way!) but at the end of the day, respect their opinions and choices. Your support will mean a lot to them, especially if it seems like no one else is on their side.
  2. Give space – just because you’re best friends with someone doesn’t mean you have to be with them all the time. Everyone has a busy life and good friends can go days without seeing each other and not care, being supportive and accommodating of one another’s schedules.
  3. Be considerate – as a friend, know what’s going on in your friends’ lives and be considerate of what’s going on in their lives, how they’re feeling, and what kind of support they need at that time.
  4. Have fun – one of the biggest reasons we love hanging with friends is because it’s fun! Friends have a natural ability to have fun with each other. Always be thinking of new fun things you can do with your friends. Or, do the same thing you always do as a kind of “tradition” with your friends. Whatever you do, make it fun! That’s what friends are for.
  5. Be there for them. No matter what – no matter how busy, tired, emotional, crazed, annoyed, moody, frazzled, or upset you are – make time for your friends when they need you. The friends that mean the most to me are the ones that are there when it’s difficult and inconvenient, not just when it’s easy. Be that friend for someone and you will really make a difference in their life.

Like I said, friendship is important. Be there for your friends and do little things to let them know how important and special they are to you! They will appreciate it, I guarantee it.

Be a Good Friend

One thought on “How to be a Great Friend

Leave a Reply

