Words of the Week: Don’t Compare

There are so many times that I find myself stuck on what someone else is doing or comparing myself to how I match up to another person’s successes.

Even with my blog, I’ve found myself feeling down that other bloggers are so much more advanced than me, have already thought of topics I wish I had, or have a bigger following.

But then I realize how silly it is so compare myself to someone who has been doing something for years when I’m just starting out. They’re in the middle of the race and I’m at the starting line.

It’s definitely natural for almost everyone to make comparisons between themselves and others. In school, careers…even fitness routines. I mean, sometimes when I’m in the first 10 minutes of my workout I glance over at someone else’s elliptical stats as see they’ve burned 160 calories while I’ve only burned 15 and feel an initial wave of severe discouragement. But in the next breath, I realize they’re in the middle of their work out while I’m in the beginning.

The reality is that in every aspect of life, everyone moves at different speeds. Everyone begins and ends at different times and it’s totally okay to move at your own pace.

How many times have you thought, “I wish I was as successful as so and so,” or, “I wish I could do this and that like so and so can.” I know I’m guilt of doing that all the time. But then I realize I’m on a totally different track and path than anyone else. Wherever I’m at in reaching my goals, finding my successes, and understanding my passions has nothing to do with where anyone else is in the track of their life.

This is something everyone has to realize in order to feel confident in their journey. I read recently that “comparison is the thief of joy” and I can’t think of anything that is more true.

don't compare

Leave a Reply

