Beat the Germs this Season

Okay, so Quinnipiac is being totally crazy about the flu. This is like Swine of Oh-Nine all over again. Professors are saying we might go online for a little because of flu outbreaks and forcefully telling us to leave if we have any flu symptoms. Okay, so I sneezed so should I leave campus? I think not. It’s all a little bit dramatic.

(NOT to discount the serious nature of having the flu! I know it’s not fun and can be very devastating. I just think that QU is taking it to totally new levels)

I mean, it’s definitely necessary and great to be prepared. And it’s so admirable that my school is preparing well. But, let’s not get too crazy.

Anyway, the truth of the matter is that it is really important to be very careful when at school about getting sick, especially in the winter. It may seem almost impossible since school is filled with germs. From classrooms to bathrooms to dorms to the gym, germs are living everywhere and it’s definitely not feasible to avoid them completely. But, you can do your part to avoid getting sick. Here’s how:

  1. Wash your hands – I know this is something you’ve heard a million times, but it’s what works best. Lather your hands up with anti-bacterial soap (the Bath and Body Works ones are my favorite!) and wash your hands for as long as it takes you to sing Happy Birthday or Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star. Then, rinse your hands and dry them completely. I love the Kleenex disposable hand towels that come in the box because then I know I’m drying with something clean and germ free rather than a hand towel that has collected germs. Do this multiple times a day, especially before eating! You can also use hand sanitizer when you can’t get to a sink! This will help the spread of so many germs.
  2. Be a little crazy – Freshman year, I was absolutely terrified of getting Swine. So, I went absolutely nuts. I brought Clorox disinfecting wipes in a little ziplock bag to the library and wiped down my station before starting to work. I cleaned off my gym machines before and after my work out. I sprayed just about everything with Lysol. I practiced such caution and ya know what? I’m glad I did! Because I didn’t get sick! It’s ok to go to extremes during this time of year to prevent illness. Truly, I encourage it.
  3. Sleep! – getting enough sleep is the best way for your immune system to be strong enough to combat germs and illness. That’s just the long and short of it. Whether you go to sleep earlier, sleep later, or take more naps…give your body the rest it needs.
  4. Airborne and Emergen-C – these two supplements are great to mix into your water once a day in order to avoid getting sick, strengthen your immune system, and be healthier. Even though they don’t taste great, they’re a great way to combat sickness during the winter months and I truly do believe in them and that they work.
  5. Apple Cider Vinegar – this sounds so strange, but apple cider vinegar (the unfiltered, organic kind) has so many health benefits. Adding a tablespoon of it to your water twice a day can boost your immune system during this germy time and have many other great health effects as well. It’s weird and doesn’t taste great, but is definitely worth a try not only now but all year long.

Now that you know all the ways to protect yourself while at school, do your best to stay away from all those icky germs this season! Good luck!

germ figthers

Leave a Reply

