The Balancing Act of Life

As break is about halfway over, I have been thinking a lot about how it’s been so far. It’s truly been great, I’ve done a lot of fun things and been surrounded by the people I love most. I mean, what else could I ask for?

Anyways, I’ve been lucky enough to have an internship and have been able to work at the store I’ve worked at since high school on the side to make extra money. And as I’m sure you’ve figured out about me, I love being busy. So it has really been great.

But I’ve been thinking a lot about life balances. Especially in the past year and a half, I’ve felt like I’m almost always balancing on a tightrope and like my life is one big balancing act.

Don’t get me wrong, I have a great life and am very, very lucky. I have everything anyone could ever need and more.

There is always just so much going on with me (which is a good thing!), and sometimes it is hard to keep a healthy balance. Between work, school, friends, family, my boyfriend, internships, and so on, it definitely requires a lot of, well…balance.

Especially this break, I’ve felt the need for that balance. So many days I felt like I was rushing from my internship to my job to home to my boyfriend’s house that I was not only really tired but also so caught up in the commotion of life that I didn’t take the time I should have to enjoy the moments I was spending with everyone I love.

For that reason, it’s so important to balance life on a daily basis. This is something I definitely have a hard time with, because I’m someone that wants to and thinks that I can do it all.

In reality though, no one can.

These are the ways I’m going to consciously utilize to balance my life better this upcoming year:

Breathing – deep breaths help me think and relax and prompt clarity

Breaking – everyone needs a break once in a while. I need to learn this. Furthermore, I need to learn a break doesn’t mean sitting on my laptop working in front of the TV.

Playing – every day should include something done just for fun. Yes, I think working is fun, but I do it for other reasons, too

Asking – I am really bad at asking for help, but when I need it I will begin to ask (baby steps)

Enjoying – like I said, sometimes I am too crazed to enjoy the moments. This is definitely something I need to learn to do E V E R Y D A Y! After all, life is short.

What are your best techniques for balancing a busy schedule? How do you meet your goals without going crazy?

balancing act

2 thoughts on “The Balancing Act of Life

  1. Pingback: Inspiration: A Taste For Balance… | Mirth and Motivation

  2. Pingback: Robert JR Graham » Personal Balance For Life

Leave a Reply

