Books on my Shelf: Bargains

I am definitely someone that loves a good sale when shopping. I always seek them and often times seem to find them, much to my delight.

This past semester, on one of my trips home I noticed a large stack of hard cover books on the kitchen table. When my mom saw me looking at them she told me that she and my dad had purchased all six of them for a total of thirty dollars.

I was so confused by this – I mean, one of these books alone should have cost around twenty-five dollars. She told me that they had found and purchased them from the Bargain Book section of Barnes and Noble.

I had always walked right past the Bargain Book section of the store, never even giving it a second thought. But if I shop sales in every other store I go to, why wouldn’t I in a book store?

Since then, my mom and I have been visiting the bargain section whenever we go to B&N, and have found so many really great books I would not have picked out otherwise.  Some of the best books I read in 2012, in fact, came from that exact section.

The other day we picked up a bunch of books from there and I have begun reading Richard Paul Evan’s Promise Me and cannot put it down! I’ve been super busy but reading snippets of it whenever I have time, mostly when I wake up in the morning or before I go to sleep. Every time I pick it up, I have a difficult time putting it down.

We also bought Mini Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella while we were there from the bargain section which I am excited to read. Her books are so fun and I’m sure this one will be so light hearted and cute.

Finally, we found a bunch of other books that sounded really good. They seem to be thriller/mystery type novels and we didn’t even know one of the authors, but it sounded so good we couldn’t resist it! I can’t wait to read them all.

It’s not that buying a regular priced book is a big deal – it’s what we’ve always done. But, going to the bargain section not only saves money but it opens our eyes to new books and authors we may never have encountered otherwise!

best read

Leave a Reply

