Holiday Reflections

As the holiday season begins to wind down, I can’t help but be filled with a sense of sadness that once again, Christmas time is over. This time of year always has me thinking and reflecting on the season as a whole.

This year during Christmas, I felt so incredibly busy almost the entire time. Especially once I got home from school, everything passed so quickly.

Between running around for gifts and collecting recipes to bake and doing every other daily thing, the season passed me by entirely.

I didn’t watch Frosty the Snowman, I didn’t watch Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer. I only partially decorated our Christmas tree and I did not bake have of the recipes I had pinned throughout the year, vowing I would try over Christmas.

Don’t get me wrong, I had a great Christmas. My parents got me so many amazing gifts and I loved being with my family. The day was so special, as it always is.

But I truly wouldn’t have been upset if there were zero gifts for me under the tree this year. As much as I love getting presents, it wouldn’t have mattered one little bit to me, and this is the first year I can truly say that without one ounce of hesitation.

Anyways, while reflecting on this particular holiday season, it’s gotten me thinking about the fact that maybe instead of rushing around every holiday season, it should be more of a time to slow down and enjoy family, friends, and the season in general. Isn’t that what Christmas is supposed to be about – taking time to be thankful and happy?

Next year, I am going to make a conscious effort to slow down and simply enjoy and appreciate, and I think everyone else should too.

the grinch

Leave a Reply

