My Favorite Interview Tips & Tricks

This past week, I had an internship interview. I think it went really well and it was a great experience!

I also got to go into NYC for it which is always fun. Seeing the city all decorated for the holidays is always a special treat.

Anyways, I like to think that I am pretty good at interviews! I try really hard whenever I have them and have always enjoyed talking with people as well as meeting new people.

Here are my favorite interview trips and tricks to follow:

  1. Dress the part – dressing in attire for hire is very important. Always make sure that you dress appropriately, not showing too much skin and always looking professional. Usually keeping it simple is best – try to avoid crazy color combos as well as gaudy and loud jewels.  Also, stay away from heavy makeup. However, make sure you wear something that makes you feel comfortable and confident. The right outfit can set the mood for a great interview to come.
  2. Talk about how far you’ve come – one of the most effective things to do during an interview (at least I think) is to bring up something you’ve overcome. Whether it be poor time management skills or flawed writing abilities, it is important to show that you recognize that you’re not perfect while conveying the idea that you are constantly working on self-improvement.
  3. Ask questions – you want to show your interviewers that you’re interested in the company! That’s why you’re there! Have questions prepared ahead of time that you want to ask. I always like to ask about the office culture and environment because that’s important to me, so my best advice is ask about things that matter to you and your happiness if you were to be hired.
  4. Follow the rules of recruitment – I find sorority recruitment rules to fit in with interviewing rules. Well, at least some of them. During interviews, I follow the rule of not discussing, emphasizing, showing, or even bringing up the B’s – Booze, Brands, Boys, and Boobs.
  5. Follow up – if you’re truly interested in landing the job, make sure you follow up with the company. Within 24 hours of the interview, I always send an e-mail. Additionally, within several days, I send a simple thank you card. These people did dedicate time to you and politeness is always a great quality to show!

While interviews may seem scary, as long as you’re prepared and confident they should be a breeze. I actually think they’re kind of fun! And remember that even if an interview doesn’t land a job, it’s still great practice for the next one.

attire

J.Crew Factory Dress | Stella & Dot Medina Bib Necklace

Nine West Silver Flats | Kate Spade Grove Court Maise Handbag

Leave a Reply

