Project Angel Tree

Now that it’s the holiday season, I am more than ready to get ready Christmas shopping, decorating, and being in the spirit.

This season, however, I found a great way to remind myself that although I am extremely lucky and have always had way more than enough on Christmas, others are not so fortunate.

Can you imagine waking up on Christmas morning to no gifts under the tree as a child? To no Christmas dinner with friends and family? I know that many of my best childhood memories center around the holiday, and as a child it would have been so sad not to have an enchanted Christmas with visions of Santa and his reindeer on Christmas Eve.

That’s why this season I am participating in The Salvation Army’s Project Angel Tree. A sorority and community service organization at my school were running it, and I was so excited to sign up.

The Angel Tree Program is an initiative to give under privileged children, from newborns to 12 year olds, gifts on Christmas.

I have a six year old little boy this year, and was given a little angel with his information on it, such as clothes sizes and interests so that I could shop for him accordingly.

All break, I have been buying him a bunch of things, from clothes to toys, and am so excited to donate them when I get back to school.

Doing something like this not only helps someone in need and brings joy to a child (what could be better than that?!) but makes me feel good about giving back, especially since I have always been blessed with so much.

To find out more about this awesome program, check out the Facebook page.

Leave a Reply

