Beauty Blitz: A Solution for Dry Feet

Let me tell you a little fact about me: my feet are usually embarrassingly dry. I think because I usually refuse to wear socks, especially during the winter they get ridiculously dry, cracked…and just disgusting (but thankfully not smelly).

I have tried so many different remedies to help this problem – tons of creams, scraping with a pumice stone, foot baths, and so on. Nothing seems to help to the degree I desperately need it to.

Thus, I decided to try a remedy I found on Pinterest (where else?!) that claimed to be fool proof. And guess what…it worked! I wouldn’t say my feet are baby soft now, but they are definitely a great deal better than they have been (which is saying a lot).

Here’s what you’ll need:

hand towels, socks, listerine, shaving cream, lotion or foot cream, a bucket, and warm water

And here are the steps:

  1. Lather shaving cream on the dry parts of your feet.
  2. In a bucket, combine equal parts warm water and Listerine.
  3. Soak a hand towel in the solution and then ring it out.
  4. With the shaving cream on your feet, wrap the wet towel around the bottom of your feet and let it soak for 30 minutes (this is a great time to sit at your computer and get some work done!).
  5. After time’s up, use the towel to rub your feet firmly to get the shaving cream off as well as some dead skin (yuck!).
  6. Dry your feet well…don’t forget in between your toes.
  7. Apply a generous amount of lotion and put on some fuzzy socks!

I got this great remedy from Mommy Medicine and I’m so glad I tried it! As tempting as this might be to do several times, though, it should only be done once a week because it literally peels skin off your feet.

Thank goodness for Pinterest, right?!

Leave a Reply

