Routines

While it’s been so relaxing having a whole week off due to Hurricane Sandy here at school, I’m beyond ready to get back into a routine when classes resume tomorrow.

I’m someone who’s not the biggest fan of change, and while I’m working on this (slowly), it’s sometimes hard for me when my routine is so thrown off. I’m also not great at relaxing, so this week has been all about adjustments.

So, as I’m preparing to get back in the swing of things, I’ve been reflecting on the elements of a great routine that works for you. Everyone is different, but there are certain things that everyone’s routine should definitely have!

  1. Time it out – you know your schedule and yourself the best. You know how long it takes you to shower, have breakfast, study for tests, and do daily tasks. Time out your routine in a realistic way in order to make it work.
  2. Be sure it makes you happy – what is the point of doing something if it doesn’t make you happy? There is none. Believe me, I’ve learned that the hard way. Make sure that whatever your routine consists of, it is making you satisfied and most importantly happy. If it isn’t, change it!
  3. Write it down – I’m a big believer in lists, and on top of writing down a list of everything I need to do each day, I also map out what my day is going to look like. Even if I don’t follow it completely, it’s still useful if I get off track.
  4. Make it fun! – Every morning as I get ready for class, I put Boy Meets World on. That is one of the fun parts of my routine that adds joy to my day. Make sure that you include these little elements of fun to your routine that add up to the large element of joy throughout your days. Whether it be music, television, friend time, or a glass of champagne at the end of the day, do something fun!

Of course, all routines require adjustment sometimes and can’t always be followed exactly. But having one adds familiarity along with sanity to my sometimes crazy days, and I’m sure it could do the same for you.

Leave a Reply

