Birthday Fun and Cakes

Today was my little sister’s 18th birthday! I can’t believe what an amazing person she has grown up to be! I am so lucky to have her in my life and as my best friend. I am also happy to have spent this special day with her since she’s been staying with me here at Quinnipiac during the hurricane. Happy birthday Kim!

With that said, I LOVE birthdays. I love my own birthday (a lot!) and I also love celebrating other people’s! A birthday is the one day of the year that is completely all about you…and that is always something to be excited about!

I like going all out for birthdays of the people I care about. I love making them feel loved and appreciated on their very special days. One of my favorite ways to do this is by baking them their favorite stuff…birthday cakes, cookies, brownies, and so on. Baking is already one of my favorite things, but holiday baking is the icing on the cake (no pun intended!).

I’ve baked tons of different cakes to appease everyone’s favorite flavors. A mint cake, lemon cakes, key lime cakes, plain old chocolate, a monkey cake…even a cupcake cake shaped like an owl (Pinterest inspired, of course)! Getting really creative with them is so fun and always makes my family and friends really happy because you’ve shown them how much you care.

Birthdays are such a fun thing to celebrate, and I can’t wait to keep doing so with those closest to me for a long time to come!

chocolate mousse cake, my favorite home made icing!

key lime cake, adorned with lime slices!

monkey cake, all lit up!

owl cupcake cake for my dad!

strawberry cake with homemade whipped cream icing!

golfer cake for my grandpa!

lemon cake!

 

 

Leave a Reply

