Books on my Shelf: Jodi Picoult

One of my favorite obsessions I’ve had for as long as I can remember is reading. Reading is my favorite way to escape, relax, and calm down. In a world where I am always on the move, always working on one thing or another, and always letting my mind race, reading is the best way to slow it down.

When I was younger, my dad was really the one to instill reading as one of the core values of my life, and I’m so thankful for that. I was that nerdy child that would wake up at 6:30am to read Harry Potter before getting ready for fourth grade, and I’m not even embarrassed about it. Being a great reader has made me a better student, a better writer, and a better thinker. It has made me more creative and much more cultured.

Every week, I want to share with you some books on my shelf. I have many. But like any avid reader, I have my favorites!

My favorite author to date is Jodi Picoult. Maybe that is really cliche (since she is a best seller) but I don’t care! Her books are amazing and never cease to surprise me…ever!

Picoult writes flawlessly and I never get bored with her books because she switches points of view all throughout her novels, which is so admirable because she really captures the voice of each character, writing in different tones and developing them so well that you feel like you know them all by the end of each book.

I’ve read mostly all of her books, but here are my top five favorites:

My Sister’s Keeper – my all-time favorite book! The book is SO much better than the movie, FYI

Nineteen Minutes – I remember reading this right before Virginia Tech happened! Freaky and so memorable

House Rules – great insights to the world of Autism

Handle with Care – such a beautiful story that you wouldn’t expect

Mercyraises interesting questions about love and the boundaries of it (if any)

About her latest (solo) book Lone Wolf – this one doesn’t make my favorites list because it took me longer to get into than her others. However, it’s still a GREAT read if you take the time to get into it. The ending is shocking and definitely worth hanging in there.

As much as I love Picoult’s novels, there are several that I’m not so keene on. I don’t highly recommend Vanishing Acts and Sing you Home

how cute is that reading dog?!

 

6 thoughts on “Books on my Shelf: Jodi Picoult

  1. Pingback: Monday Getaway! | preppy obsessions

  2. Pingback: Books on my Shelf: Lisa Scottoline | preppy obsessions

  3. Pingback: 5 Steps to a Productive Sunday | preppy obsessions

  4. Pingback: the Great Book Reading Mission of Krash Bandikoot « Krash Bandikoot

  5. Pingback: Books on my Shelf: The Storyteller | preppy obsessions

Leave a Reply

